Book Review

Shadow and Bone Review

First of all – wow. Like, WOW.

Part of me is kicking myself for not getting these books read sooner, but then another part of me is happy that I have them all and I didn’t have to wait for each book’s release because I might have died. I already know that by the time these are finished, I’m going to hold them as high as I do the Daughter of Smoke and Bone and A Court of Thorns and Roses trilogies.

I had never read anything by Leigh Bardugo before I read this book and I’m so thrilled to have a new favorite author. She is most definitely on my buy-as-soon-as-she-releases-something list. Her writing style is engaging andshe does an excellent job of building her Grishaverse without making it overwhelming to understand or follow.

Alina – I wasn’t sure how I felt about her until the end of the book. She seemed a little too eager to belong (which is understandable given her upbringing) but I think she redeemed herself at the end. I thought her character development was nicely done and done in a way that makes it believable. She wasn’t too much of a bad-ass, but she stepped up when it counted and made decisions I think a normal person would have made had they had been in her situation.

The Darkling – I’m a sucker for tall, dark, handsome, mysterious, and brooding but DAMN why did Bardugo have to do me like that? I’m still struggling with the switch in my feelings, and I’m not sure I can give up hope on him just yet. Maybe I’m still holding on to Rhysand from ACOTAR too hard haha.

Mal – I liked him in the beginning, then shipped the Darkling and Alina, so by the end of the book my emotions were at war with each other. Once he was given a bigger part in the story, the more I came to like him and really felt the connection between him and Alina. I’m still going back and forth with who I ship for Alina though, honestly. Am I a horrible person?

Genya – I loved her so much the entire book and then BAM, it happened again and now I don’t know what the hell to think. Her character’s development by the end of the book was almost harder for me to deal with than the Darkling’s. I really hope she’s in the next book and she turns out to be what I thought she was in the first place.

I gave this book five stars and I cannot wait to finish this series and see what the future holds for everyone. Please feel free to leave me a comment, and a like would be much appreciated!

Have an awesome Saturday lovelies! ❤

5 thoughts on “Shadow and Bone Review

Leave a Reply

